Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is comprised of ASTHO members who provide the organization with vision and expertise that guides the organization in its endeavors.

Voting Members:

  • President
  • President-Elect
  • Immediate Past President
  • Past President
  • Secretary-Treasurer
  • One representative from each of the ten HHS regions
  • Two elected territorial representatives

Non-Voting Members:

  • The chair of the Senior Deputies Committee
  • The chair of the Affiliate Council
  • One representative from ASTHO’s Alumni Society



Anne Zink, MD, FACEP

Chief Medical Officer
Alaska Department of Health


Steven J. Stack, MD, MBA

Kentucky Department for Public Health

Immediate Past President

Mark Levine, MD

Vermont Department of Health

Past President

Elke Shaw-Tulloch, MPH

Public Health Administrator
Idaho Department of Health and Welfare


Scott Harris, MD, MPH, FACP, FIDSA

State Health Officer
Alabama Department of Public Health

Regional and Territorial Directors

Region I

Mark Levine, MD

Commissioner, Vermont Department of Health

Region II

Carlos Mellado López, MD, FACEP

Secretary of Health, Puerto Rico Department of Public Health

Region III

Debra Bogen, MD

Acting Secretary of Health, Pennsylvania Department of Health

Region IV

Scott Harris, MD, MPH, FACP, FIDSA

State Health Officer, Alabama Department of Public Health

Region V

Elizabeth Hertel, MBA

Director, Michigan Department of Health & Human Services

Region VI

Joseph Kanter, MD, MPH

State Health Officer, Louisiana Department of Health

Region VII

Paula Nickelson

Acting Director, Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services

Region VIII

Alexia Harrist, MD, PhD

State Health Officer and State Epidemiologist, Wyoming Department of Health

Region IX

Ihsan Azzam, MD, PhD, MPH

Chief Medical Officer, Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health

Region X

Elke Shaw-Tulloch, MHS

Public Health Administrator, Idaho Department of Health and Welfare


Esther L. Muña, PhD, MHA, FACHE

Chief Executive Officer, Northern Mariana Islands Commonwealth Healthcare Corporation


Justa E. Encarnacion, RN, MBA, HCM

Health Commissioner & Chief Public Health Officer, U.S. Virgin Islands Department of Health

Ex-Officio Members

Michael R. Fraser, PhD, MS, CAE, FCPP

Chief Executive Officer, ASTHO

Pamela Pontones, MA*

Chair, Senior Deputies Committee
Deputy State Health Commissioner, Indiana Department of Health

Richard Hamburg, MPA

Chair, Affiliate Council
Executive Director, Safe States Alliance

Mylynn Tufte, MBA, MSIM, BSN

Alumni Society Representative