Increasing Access to Contraception

Increasing Access to Contraception Learning Community (2016-Present) Background

In 2016, ASTHO, with support from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), and Office of Population Affairs (OPA), convened an Increasing Access to Contraception Learning Community with 27 states and territories, and national partners. The learning community disseminates strategies and best practices to implement policies and programs that increase access to the full range of contraceptive options.

Participating States

    • Alabama
    • Alaska
    • California
    • Colorado
    • Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
    • Connecticut
    • Delaware
    • Georgia
    • Florida
    • Illinois
    • Indiana
    • Iowa
    • Kentucky
    • Louisiana
    • Maryland
    • Massachusetts
    • Mississippi
    • Montana
    • New Mexico
    • New York
    • North Carolina
    • Oklahoma
    • South Carolina
    • Texas
    • Washington
    • West Virginia
    • Wyoming

    State Initiatives to Increase Access to Contraception

    This clickable map contains descriptions of ASTHO’s Increasing Access to Contraception Learning Community activities for all 27 participating states and territories. Information is available for each state that is colored in blue.
    See map »

    Increasing Access to Contraception Map

    Learning Community Call Recordings and Presentations

    To facilitate learning across states, ASTHO is leveraging the Increasing Access to Contraception Learning Community network to connect state partners in similar roles and share successful examples of implementation. The calls have featured presentations from a variety of states and national experts.
    Learning community call recordings and presentations »