Member Services

ASTHO's 2018 Public Health Awards

ASTHO's 2018 Public Health Awards is a chance for the public health community to nominate outstanding professionals and programs at the national and state levels and recognize colleagues for their achievements, dedication, and service to the field of public health. Award descriptions appear below. 

The ASTHO Nominations, Awards and Membership (NAM) Committee makes final determinations of all ASTHO sponsored award recipients. Winners will be announced at the 2018 ASTHO Annual Meeting, Sept. 26-27 in Alexandria, VA.

Questions or requests for additional information can be directed to Shani Banks at

Swearingen Award

Since 1979, the Noble J. Swearingen Award, named for a former Executive Director of ASTHO, has been bestowed on one individual in public health administration who has five or more years of experience in a state or territorial health agency and five or more years in service to ASTHO.

The deadline for submitting nomination materials has passed.

Vision Awards

The ASTHO Vision Awards are presented annually to recognize outstanding state and territorial health department programs or initiatives that demonstrate creative and innovative approaches to address public health needs or challenges. The Vision Awards promote awareness and provide peer recognition to successful state and territorial health programs.

ASTHO presents Vision Awards in two categories: programs with budgets greater than $250,000 and programs with budgets less than $250,000. Applications are judged by experts and leaders in state public health based on innovation, program effectiveness, and potential for replication.

The deadline for submitting nomination materials has passed.

Model Policies and Practice Challenge

de Beaumont Foundation

ASTHO, in partnership with the de Beaumont Foundation, launched the first Public Health Workforce Interests and Needs Survey (PH WINS) Model Policies and Practices Challenge (MPPC) in June 2017. This national challenge seeks to highlight workforce innovations that are changing the public health field and demonstrating a strategic investment in the future of the national public health workforce. The aim of the challenge is to highlight the most successful and transformative workforce development programs and recognize them as models in their agencies to win one of three $10,000 prizes—best state or territorial, best local, and best overall policy. Applications are scored by an expert panel of workforce development researchers, stakeholders, practitioners, and leaders on the goals, effectiveness, creativity, and partner engagement.

The deadline for submitting nomination materials has passed.

Ed Thompson Lifetime Achievement Medal for Sustained Leadership in Public Health

Established in 2013 to honor the late F.E. "Ed" Thompson, a former Mississippi state health official affectionately called the “medical statesman.” Dr. Thompson’s distinguished career spanned three decades during which he served in leadership roles in multiple levels of government and worked in academia to prepare a new generation of future public health leaders. The Thompson award, is one of the highest honors bestowed by the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO). The Thompson medal acknowledges the lifetime achievement of a national public health leader whose career marks an important legacy in the advancement of public health for the nation.

The deadline for submitting nomination materials has passed.

McCormack Award

Established in 1950 to honor the late Arthur T. McCormack, a Kentucky State Health Official, the McCormack Award is presented each year to a current, or in some cases, a former, public health official who has served in public health for at least ten years, been a chief state or territorial health official for at least five years, demonstrated excellence and has made a significant contribution to the knowledge and practice of the field.

The deadline for submitting nomination materials has passed.

Excellence in Public Health Award

Occasionally, the association presents its Excellence in Public Health Award to recognize outstanding service on behalf of the public health community. Traditionally the award is presented in two categories, national and state/territory, and is for outstanding national leadership in promoting health and preventing disease as an alternative to more costly payments for sickness and illness.

The deadline for submitting nomination materials has passed.

Alumni Award

ASTHO's Alumni Award is presented to a former chief state or territorial health official who has demonstrated his/her continued commitment to public health.

The deadline for submitting nomination materials has passed.